All Collections
Speak & Improve - Frequently Asked Questions
What do the levels mean and what is the CEFR?
What do the levels mean and what is the CEFR?

Speak & Improve gives scores on the CEFR scale. This article tells you more about the CEFR.

Diane avatar
Written by Diane
Updated over a week ago

The CEFR (Common European Framework of Reference) describes language ability on a scale of levels from A1 for beginners up to C2 for those who have mastered a language. This makes it easy for anyone involved in language teaching and testing, such as teachers or learners, to see the level of different qualifications. It also means that employers and educational institutions can easily compare Cambridge qualifications to other exams in their country.

The diagram below shows all of the Cambridge English exams on the CEFR scale.

You can find out more about the CEFR by watching a short video here: and download documents to support teaching and learning with the CEFR.
In Speak & Improve, you get a score after you complete each Part of the test or each time you practise a complete skill. You will see your score for the Parts you have completed on the CEFR scale. Your score will look like this:

Keep practising to keep improving!

Did this answer your question?